Book Review: Mythology by Helen Boswell

Title: Mythology (GoodReads)
Author: Helen Boswell (@HelenBozz)
Page Count: 418
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: YA Paranormal

Rating: 7/10

Goodreads Summary:
Hope Gentry doesn’t believe in Fate. Born with an unusual power to see the dark memories of those around her, Hope just wants to be a normal teenager. But on the first day of her senior year of high school, she finds herself irresistibly drawn to a transfer student named Micah Condie. At first glance, Micah seems like a boy that most girls would dream about. But when Hope’s powers allow her to discover Micah’s darkest secret, she quickly becomes entangled in the lives of mythical entities she never dreamed existed. Was this her destiny all along? And will her powers help her survive the evil of the Demon Impiorum?

Mythology isn’t just for English class anymore.

Opinion:

I don’t normally read paranormal/supernatural stories. They don’t really interest me too much. I made an exception for this one because my friend Julie (who’s also an awesome writer whom you should check out here) recommended it. I’m glad she did.

The Good

The Beginning – I definitely loved the beginning of this book. It drew me in right away. There’s a shooting that I wanted to know more about. Hope has a brother who cares about her and friends that she seems to be close to. There’s a guy she likes and a teacher she likes (though not in the same way), and the teacher seems to hate the guy. This was a great start to the book, because both Micah and Dr. Halverson seemed like good guys, and I didn’t understand why they seemed to hate each other. I definitely had to keep reading to find out more!

The End – The last 50 pages made it impossible for me to put the book down. All of a sudden so many things start happening, and I couldn’t wait to see how it was going to end. There’s a lot of drama, but in a good way. I found myself suddenly caring about characters that I hadn’t really cared about before, which says a lot. Usually when there’s a character I don’t really care about, the action scenes at the end aren’t all that emotional because I don’t care what happens to them. I thought that would be true here with one of the characters, but I was pleasantly surprised to realize that wasn’t the case.

Jonathan – He’s not the love interest in this novel, but I really wish he were. He was, hands down, my favorite character in this novel. He’s a guardian who’s like 500 years old but looks like he’s still 19. He dresses in black all the time, drives super fast, and owns an art studio. He also hates texting and has a good sense of humor. My favorite parts of the book are the scenes that include him. He’s funny and smart and caring – I mean, what’s not to love? I also loved learning more about him near the end of the book. That definitely helped explain some of his character and made me like him even more.

Hope – I didn’t like her all the time, as I think she made some really stupid choices (one choice in particularly, which I won’t get into due to spoilers, just does not make any sense to me), but she was definitely a better paranormal protagonist than Bella was, and I enjoyed that. She made choices. Sure, I didn’t always like her choices, but she didn’t sit around waiting for the guys to do everything for her, and I liked that.

The Writing – Helen Boswell is definitely good at getting the words down paper. I may not have liked all of the plot (more on that later), but the way she put the words together was great. It’s a self-published book, but I didn’t see any glaring typos or anything, which was really nice. There were some good analogies in here, as well as some contemporary references that made me smile.

The Not So Good

Micah – I didn’t dislike his character as a person, but I disliked him as the love interest. I never really saw any reason for why he and Hope were so drawn to each other. This is something I come across a lot in books, so I won’t go into too much detail here. Everyone knows what insta-love is by this point. It’s just sort of annoying watching two characters say such gushy things to each other when they haven’t known each other that long. I mean, what guy would really talk like that all the time? There’s no real personality there. Of course, it also didn’t help that I thought Jonathan was so much better than Micah in like every way. If I were Hope, I totally would have gone for him instead. It seemed like Hope and Jonathan had a much better connection than she and Micah did.

Twilight similarities – This wasn’t a huge thing, but there were several parts that reminded me a lot of Twilight. She sees people’s “auras” and worst memories, but she can’t see his and doesn’t see any when he’s around. Sort of like how Edward can read people’s minds but can’t read Bella’s. There’s even a part where he takes her flying, which reminds me of Twilight even though I’m not honestly sure if that’s even in the book. Neither of these things is exclusively related to Twilight , of course, but it was enough to bother me a little, particularly because I mostly avoid this type of book because I hate being reminded of Twilight.

Side characters/story lines – One of the things I loved about the beginning of this book was that she had friends and family around her. I hoped we would get to see her interact more with them, but they just sort of fade into the background. There’s a reason her brother disappears for most of the novel, but I still wish he were there more. Her best friends show up only when necessary, and their story lines don’t really go anywhere. Part of this is because they’re minds are altered, but I still wish we got to see more emotion from them.

Middle – All of the above combined to equal one rather boring middle. The beginning and the end were great, but I found myself skimming parts in the middle, waiting to see when something interesting would happen. There’s a decent amount of stuff that happens, but nothing ever really comes of it, and that sort of bothered me. I was expecting more.

Her aunt – Her aunt really only appears in the prologue and epilogue, and I don’t really understand why she needed to be there at all. It doesn’t really add anything to the story. Maybe it will be more relevant in the sequel. I don’t know. I just think that was a really horrible way to end the novel.

Overall: I’m glad I went out of my comfort zone and read this book. It wasn’t perfect, but I find myself thinking fondly of it now I’ve finished it. The second book is coming out in September, and I will be picking up a copy when it does.

Posted on June 20, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

