Book Review: Losing It by Cora Carmack

Title: Losing It (GoodReads)
Author: Cora Carmack
Page Count: 204
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: New Adult Romance

Rating: 10/10

Goodreads Summary:
Virginity.

Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible– a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

Opinion:
This is the New Adult book I’ve been waiting for!

The Good
Bliss – I just love her so much. She’s neurotic and insecure, but she’s still funny and stands up for herself. I loved watching her freak out about everything. I found it completely relatable. I spent half of this book laughing out loud over the thoughts that ran through Bliss’s head. I highlighted so many different paragraphs so I could go back to them later and reread. Bliss is, hands down, my favorite NA narrator.

I’ve loved the idea of new adult literature since I heard about it, but so far I’ve been incredibly disappointed with the books I’ve been reading that fall under that category. This book changed that. This is the sort of new adult book I was waiting for. Yes, there’s romance, and the romance is a huge part of it, but we also get to see her try to figure out what she wants to do with her life. It was really refreshing to read about a character who didn’t have her whole life figured out already.

I also really liked the romance in this book. There’s none of that insta-love that is so prevalent in books, and I really appreciated that. They might have immediately jumped into bed with each other (though they don’t actually do anything in that bed), but there are no immediate declarations of love. They get to know each other over the course of the semester, and we get to sort of fall in love with them. When they do talk about their feelings, it seems real. Of course, this also allowed for lots of freaking out on Bliss’s part. I think that’s why I hate insta-love so much. There’s none of those awkward “does he like me?” moments because the guy just blurts out his feelings right away. That doesn’t happen here. Bliss isn’t always sure where she stands with Garrick, which means that their relationship is so much more fun to read about.

I also liked the epilogue. It was nice watching Garrick freak out for a change.

The Not So Good
The first chapter didn’t immediately suck me in. That’s one of the reasons this book was on my TBR list for so long even though I had technically already started it. It just seemed a bit sudden, I guess. I mean, I know they’re at a bar and she’s an attractive girl, but it just seemed a bit quick. It obviously slowed down a lot, though, and that helped.

Garrick was a little bit too reckless for my liking. Of course, that was also sort of the point. Garrick helped Bliss stop worrying and over-thinking. So the recklessness was sort of necessary. I just didn’t like it.

Overall – there were a few tiny flaws with this book, but they weren’t enough to make me stop loving this book. I point them out only in an attempt to write a detailed review. This book is, hands down, my favorite NA novel. I was laughing through this entire book. It was just so awkward, but in a great way. I stayed up late two nights in a row to finish this, and I would have finished it much sooner had I not had so much homework to do between reading sessions. I can’t wait to read more from Cora Carmack!

Posted on June 21, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice! I’ve been staying well clear from the NA trend because it doesn’t really sound like any of it is for me, but it’s definitely encouraging to hear such praise for an NA book from someone who maybe feels similarly about NA. I’d definitely be willing to give this one a chance!

    • I love the idea of people just entering the adult world trying to figure out what they want out of life. I don’t love the idea of sexed up YA. This is definitely the closest I’ve come to finding the former. If you’re going to give one NA book a try, I would absolutely recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

