Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read in 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013.

Books are listed in the order that I read them, not necessarily the order that I liked them. Links take you to my reviews of these books. GoodReads links can be found on the review page (if you click on the picture of the book).

1. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
This book is adorable. If you already love contemporary YA, or if you’ve been wanting to try contemporary YA, I would definitely recommend reading this one! I hate the idea of love at first sight, and I still loved this book.

2. Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard
Not technically listed as New Adult, but I would count it as such anyway. Bria’s just graduated high school and doesn’t know what she wants to do with her life, so she goes on a trip to Central America by herself. The characters were interesting, and I loved watching her slowly figure out what she wanted.

3. The Designated Ugly Fat Friend (DUFF) by Kody Keplinger
Girl with issues meets boy who can’t commit. The story isn’t the most original, but the characters are awesome. This was a great book to read, and it has some great messages mixed in, as well. If you like snarky main characters and contemporary YA, you should definitely give this book a try!

4. Butter by Erin Jade Lange
Butter, weighing in at over 400 pounds, has a plan – he’s going to eat himself to death on the internet. It starts out as a joke, but he ends up gaining a lot of popularity, and now he doesn’t really know what to do. This book brings up some interesting questions and shows that things aren’t always black and white.

5. Shut Out by Kody Keplinger
I expected to dislike this book, but I was definitely proven wrong. I should have trusted Keplinger. I definitely will from now on. This modern-day retelling of Lysistrata is definitely fun to read. It’s a bit heavy-handed at times, but I agree with the message, so I didn’t care as much. Really, all of Keplinger’s books belong on this list.

6. The Treasure Map of Boys (Ruby Oliver #3) by E. Lockhart
I wish I had found this series when I was in high school. It’s fantastic, and it’s one of the few series I’ve read that actually gets better with each book. The first two could have easily fit on this list. She’s funny and insecure and loves making lists – I mean, what more could I ask for in a protagonist?

7. Real Live Boyfriends (Ruby Oliver #4) by E. Lockhart
I told you I love this series. You don’t usually get to see what happens after the “happy ever after” moment, but you do with this book. High school relationships aren’t all sunshine and rainbows, and this book showed a realistic view of the drama that goes along with relationships in general. If you haven’t read this series yet, you should definitely get on that!

8. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Satrapi
This graphic novel tells the true story of a girl living in Iran during the cultural revolution of 1979. It’s funny and depressing at the same time. I highly recommend this graphic novel to anyone who wants to learn more about another culture – or anyone who just loves a good story!

9. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Marissa Meyer is definitely one of my favorite authors. Scarlet is the second in her Lunar Chronicles series. It’s my favorite sequel ever, and it’s part of the best fairy tale retelling I’ve ever read. She keeps just enough of the fairy tale to let you recognize the elements, but she adds so many new elements that you don’t feel like you’re just reading the same old story. She’s a great writer, and she started out as a NaNo overachiever. If you haven’t given this series a shot, you totally should!

10. Losing It by Cora Carmack
This is my favorite New Adult book to date. The main character is a bit neurotic at times, but she’s neurotic in a hilarious way. I was laughing hysterically through most of this book. Carmack definitely writes awkward well. I loved reading this book. Yes, there’s the sex that NA is known for, but there’s also likeable characters who are trying to figure out what they want out of life, which made me really enjoy it. I definitely recommend you give this one a chance.

Well, those are the top 10 books I’ve read this year. This was sort of a hard list, as I’ve read so many great books! What books would be on your list? If you’ve written your own Top Ten list, leave a link in the comments and I’ll come check it out! πŸ™‚

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Great list. I found it really hard this week as well as I’ve read so many good books! πŸ™‚

  2. It’s a good problem to have when you can’t narrow down your best-of list πŸ™‚ I also loved Butter, Losing It, and Statistical. I think you’re right to categorize Wanderlove as NA- it was ahead of its time. Hope the second half of the year is just as fantastic for you!

  3. I LOVE Jennifer E Smith and Losing It was an awesome read. I recently read Faking It and I loved it even better than the first book. Great list πŸ™‚

    Here’s my Top Ten!

    • I actually just bought Faking It last night. I’m trying to force myself not to read it until I’ve read some of my older books, though. It’s hard to wait, though! πŸ˜€

  4. I only read Scarlet from this list but I really enjoyed it a lot. It was great, and even better than book one.

    My TTT

  5. Oh, I agree with Losing It! Loved that book so much, so adorable and hilarious! πŸ™‚

    My TTT

    • It really was one of the most hilarious books I’ve read this year, which I wasn’t expecting when I started reading it. Definitely one of my new favorites. πŸ™‚

  6. Intriguing list with loads of diversity! While I didn’t enjoy Butter that much I did like the Statistical Probability of Falling in Love, and I adored Cinder so I can’t wait to read Scarlet! Great work with the descriptions and the inclusions of links for easy access. (:

    • Thanks! I’m definitely trying to get better about including links to posts. And you’ll almost definitely love Scarlet! At least I can’t think of any reason why you wouldn’t, not if you loved Cinder. πŸ™‚

  7. I love the Ruby Oliver series. E. Lockhart is one of my favorites. I still need to read the Statistical Probability, but I plan to this summer. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

  8. I haven’t heard of any of these yet but some sound really promising so I’ll be taking a closer look. Thanks for sharing.

    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-books-ive-read-so-far-in-2013/

  9. I just started reading Losing it. I read over 1/2 the book last night alone! So far it is really good πŸ™‚
    Here are my top ten.

    • That’s exactly what I did! I started reading the book and then the next thing I knew it was like 3 in the morning and I was halfway done with the book! πŸ˜€ Glad you’re enjoying it!

  10. Wow, so I haven’t read any of the ones on your list! Probably because they’re contemporary and I required lots of encouragement to read those. Not sure why really because I usually really love the ones I read! I should definitely take notes from you because it sounds like you know your contemps. I would really love to read some of Kody Keplinger’s stuff and the Ruby Oliver series. And obviously Scarlet because I LOVED Cinder!

    • I definitely think the Ruby Oliver series and Keplinger’s books are good if you don’t usually read contemporary. At least I think they are. I guess I don’t know why you usually don’t read them, so I can’t say for certain. πŸ™‚

      If you ever want to discuss contemporary novels, let me know!

Leave a Reply

