Book Review: Faking It by Cora Carmack

Title: Faking It (GoodReads)
Author: Cora Carmack
Page Count: 304
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Rating: 10/10

Goodreads Summary:
Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.

Opinion:
Is this the most original storyline in the world? No.

Should you read it anyway? Absolutely!

I wasn’t originally sure if I would like this book, as I didn’t care about Cade all that much in the first book. I was so wrong. I like him and Max so much more than Garrick and Bliss. This novel had so much more depth than the first book had – not that I don’t still love the first book, of course. But I should probably try to write a more organized review and not fan-girl all over the place.

I’ve read a lot of good girl meets bad boy stories lately. This is the first book I’ve seen that’s bad girl meets good boy, and I loved seeing the roles reversed. Max and Cade were such interesting, complex characters, both dealing with grief and loss in completely different ways. I loved watching them get to know each other. This was one relationship that I was really rooting for the entire time.

I hadn’t expected this much depth from Cade after seeing him in Losing It, but I loved learning more about him in this book. There’s a reason he’s such a nice guy all the time, a reason why he tries so hard to be perfect. It’s a reason that I could really relate to, which made this book such a fantastic read. Cade is at that point in his life when he feels like everyone is moving forward without him, and nothing he does seems to be good enough. He’s still trying to figure out what he wants out of life.

Max, on the other hand, knows what she wants: to make music. She just needs to convince her parents to keep supplementing her income, as the two jobs she works aren’t enough to pay her bills and her college loans, which she only has because her parents forced her to go to college in the first place. She tried the perfect thing in the past, and it didn’t work for her. I loved reading about her past, although it made me a bit sad because her relationship with her sister is really similar to one of my character’s relationship with her sister. It sort of sucks reading someone else write your idea way better than you ever could, but it’s also sort of fun.

There were so many awesome lines in this book. There wasn’t quite the same level of awkward as there was in Losing It, since Max isn’t nearly as awkward and self-conscious as Bliss is, but I found myself enjoying it just as much, just in a different way. It’s great seeing characters figure out that what they thought they wanted wasn’t really what they wanted.

There’s really nothing I can think of to complain about this novel. It was funny and silly at times and deep and introspective at others. Cora Carmack is now on my list of authors I will automatically buy from. In fact, I’ve already gone ahead and preordered her next novella and novel. This is my new favorite New Adult novel (although Losing It is obviously still a very close second). You don’t necessarily have to read the first one first, as the only real plot you need to know from the first one is really easy to pick up on in the second, but I would still recommend reading them in order, as you’ll get more out of it.

Posted on July 13, 2013, in 52in52, New Adult books, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great review! Hopefully the book can live up to how lovely you make it sound. (: I’m going to read Losing It first – there’s a myriad of hype surrounding it but you’re positive words act as an incentive for me to read Cora Carmack’s work.

Leave a Reply

