Book Review: Dragonfly by Leigh T. Moore

Title: Dragonfly (Dragonfly #1)
Author: Leigh T. Moore
Page Count: 265
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Contemporary YA

Goodreads Summary:
Three bad things I learned this year:
-People you trust lie, even parents.
-That hot guy, the one who’s totally into you, he might not be the one.
-Things are not always how they appear.

Three good things I learned this year:
-Best friends are always there for you, even when they’re far away.
-That other hot guy, the one who remembers your birthday, he just might be the one.
-Oh, and things are not always how they appear.

Anna Sanders expected an anonymous (and uneventful) senior year until she crossed paths with rich-and-sexy Jack Kyser and his twin sister Lucy.

Pulling Anna into their extravagant lifestyle on the Gulf Coast, Lucy pushed Anna outside her comfort zone, and Jack showed her feelings she’d never experienced… Until he mysteriously withdrew.

Anna turned to her internship at the city paper and to her old attraction for Julian, a handsome local artist and rising star, for distraction. But both led to her discovery of a decades-old secret closely guarded by the twins’ distant, single father.

A secret that could permanently change all their lives.

Opinion:
I put off writing this review as long as I could. I guess I was hoping that if I left it alone for a while, I would come away with some more positive things to say about this book. Sadly, that wasn’t the case. I didn’t enjoy this book at all, a fact which pains me to admit since I received this book for free from the author. I feel horrible leaving a bad review after that, but I figure authors take that chance when they give away their books for review.

The main character
I wanted to like Anna, but I never really did. She felt flat to me. She kept going back and forth between Jack and Julian. Her newspaper interest seemed to come out of nowhere (or maybe I was bored and not paying enough attention; it could really go either way). She kept saying she was going to become a stronger person, but she never did. I’m all for weak characters who eventually realize what they’re doing is wrong, but she never really seemed to come to her senses. There was no real depth to her character. She was just sort of whiny and annoying – and this is coming from someone who usually likes emo characters.

The love interests
Maybe I would have liked Anna more if I could have understood what she saw in the love interests. I can understand her attraction to Julian. He’s a hot artist who’s never really been serious with anyone but who seems to be interested in her. It’s a cliché, but I could understand it. Although, really, Julian’s an idiot, too, for reasons I can’t explain without giving away something we learn later on. But just let me say he does something stupid that doesn’t affect the plot but which really irritates me.

Jack was a complete mystery to me. He’s an attractive rich boy with a boat. I’m sorry, but I don’t get the obsession. Think he’s cute? Sure. Daydream about him? Yeah, why not. But to start getting physical with him the first time you go somewhere together and then constantly obsess about a guy who’s clearly just using you? I get that plenty of teenagers grope each other on a first date – I guess I just wish I felt more connected with the characters so her taking off her top didn’t seem so out of the blue.

Really, I don’t know why she was interested in Jack at all, and I have no idea why either guy was interested in her.

Lucy
I expected Lucy to play a much bigger role in this novel, but really she didn’t do much of anything. I don’t really know what her purpose was besides to attempt to make Jack seem like a nice guy. She was barely in the book at all, and when she was she just sort of felt flat, as well. I was hoping for more from her.

The secret
I knew what the “secret” was long before Anna did, and I’m not sure if I was supposed to or not. Either way, I think it was sort of poorly executed. I don’t know any teenager who would be this obsessed with her friends’ parents, even if one of those friends was her friends-with-benefit. The conversation that she has with everyone involved just seemed so unrealistic to me, especially as we got nearer to the end. It just didn’t work for me. I didn’t care about the secret at all.

The drag race
This is a scene that only exists to make her realize her feelings for Julian. It doesn’t fit with the rest of the novel at all. It also annoys me that she was drinking and driving, and that fact wasn’t really acknowledged at all. I don’t know. The whole scene just felt forced and annoying, and I don’t like when books show drinking and driving in a positive light.

The ending
I have to admit that I didn’t realize this was a series until I reached the end. I don’t know how I missed that, but I did. This is a series that doesn’t really wrap up anything with book 1 – it just expects you to jump right into book 2. Some sort of closure at the end of the first book would have been nice – especially since I have no intention on reading the rest of the series.

Overall: I’ve never felt like I was too old to read a young adult book. I’m only 24 – it’s not like it’s been forever since I was a teenager. However, I think I might be too old for this book. Perhaps if I was an immature teenager, maybe I would have enjoyed this book. As it stands now, though, I thought the characters were stupid and shallow, and I wasn’t interested in learning more about them. I do, though, have another Leigh T. Moore book on my Nook right now – I’m hopeful that that one will be better than this one.

2/10

Posted on August 14, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

