Book Review: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Title: Across the Universe (GoodReads) 
Author: Beth Revis
Page Count: 398
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: YA Science Fiction/Dystopian

Goodreads Summary:
Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone – one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship – tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Opinion:
This is the tenth book that I’ve read in the last 2-3 weeks for my YA literature class, and it is hands down my favorite book that I’ve read so far. It may even be my favorite book this year. I can’t talk too much about the plot without giving anything away, but I can say that if you haven’t picked up this book, you should do it. It’s creepy and suspenseful and really makes you question what’s right and what’s wrong. I was a few steps ahead of the characters some of the time, but there was still a bunch of stuff that I was completely surprised by.

I really like the characters in this book. They’re interesting and have their own agendas. They don’t just do what’s expected of them. Even the “bad guys” have depth to them. I may not have agreed with them all, but I could at least see why they did what they did, and I really appreciate that in a book. I’ve read so many books where the antagonists are so one-dimensional, and it’s sort of annoying. This book was refreshingly different.

Part of what I loved most, though, was reading about the way these people live and drawing parallels to our own life. I guess that’s true of all dystopian novels, but it was especially fun in this book because it wasn’t quite as in-your-face as some of the others I’ve read. This is a book that is sure to start a lot of great discussions. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to read it.

10/10

Posted on September 19, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It’s great that you got to this one and Split, though they are quite different books! This one was such a unique story and I still have its sequel waiting in the wings – quite curious for your opinion on that one when you get to it. Hope you love it as much as you loved this one.

    • I hope so, too! If I didn’t have class, I would have read the rest of the series already. Sadly, I’m reading all these books right now for class, and even though we get to pick the YA books we read, the assignments would work better if they weren’t sequels, as it’s hard to give a summary without spoiling the first book. Still, as soon as this semester’s over, I am picking up the rest of the series!

  2. I simply adored the characters in this book! I think I may need to do a reread soon, as I found out earlier this year that it’s the first in the series. When I read it two years ago, I thought it was a standalone, and would never have guessed that the author furthered the story. But I am pretty excited to see where the story goes in the rest of the books! 🙂

    • I agree – the characters are awesome! That’s one of the benefits to reading the first book several years after it was written, I guess: I knew when I started reading it that it was a series. But you’re right – it doesn’t surprise me that there’s more story, but there was nothing that screamed “This is a sequel!” Definitely glad there are more, though. I loved this book so much! 🙂

      • Yes, definitely, haha. I always find myself reading books and thinking that they’re standalones, only to find out years or months later that they are the first in a series! I am so behind on series at the moment.
        I’m glad you liked it! I shall keep an eye out for your reviews of the others in the series 🙂

  3. I wish I enjoyed this book as much as you did! I thought Amy and Elder’s relationship felt very superficial, so I couldn’t get into it. On the bright side, A Millions Suns was a lot better than Across the Universe!

    • I didn’t really like Amy and Elder together, either, although I could sort of get it. I mean, she’s different enough that I could see why he was so drawn to her. I appreciated that she didn’t like fall all over him. But I have to say that my enjoyment of this book mostly came from drawing comparisons to our own world and had very little to do with the main characters.

      Glad that you liked the second one better, though! I’m looking forward to reading that one! Thanks for commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

