Book Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Title: Will Grayson, Will Grayson (GoodReads)
Author: John Green and David Levithan
Page Count: 310
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Contemporary YA

Goodreads Summary:
One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

Opinion:
From the first paragraph, I was hooked. A lot of people don’t like John Green because all his characters are the same or something, but since I’ve only read 1.5 John Green books (I’ve been halfway through Looking for Alaska for several months now), I wasn’t bothered by that. Besides, I like nerds who are interested in smart girls. I don’t see what’s wrong with that. But anyway…

This book is, obviously, about two guys named Will Grayson. I liked and disliked both of them. I found Green’s Grayson easy to relate to in the beginning because I, too, try not to care about things and try not to draw attention to myself. However, I also found his relationship with Jane a bit annoying. I liked Jane for the most part, and I hated that he couldn’t seem to make up his mind. I hate guys who only want what they can’t have, and I hated Grayson seemed to fit that description. However, I still liked him overall.

Levithan’s Grayson was very different. I thought the lowercase letters would bother me as I read, but it didn’t. This Grayson is much angrier than the other one. He thinks about killing people a lot, which I also found easy to relate to. There’s only one person in his life that makes him happy, and that’s a guy he knows from the internet. I really enjoyed reading about this Will Grayson. He makes a lot of stupid mistakes, and he’s extremely moody, but I still found his character interesting.

The most interesting character, though, was Tiny Cooper. Really, this book is more about him than it is about either Will Grayson. Tiny is huge and gay. He loves to sing. He has a new boyfriend every other day that he’s just madly in love with, and every time he gets dumped, it’s like it’s the first time. Some people might not like that he’s so in-your-face-gay, but I loved him. He’s more than just a happy face, and most of the best quotes in this book come from him. He tries so hard to make everyone around him happy. Yes, he’s extremely frustrating sometimes. But you know what? Everyone is.

I think that’s what I loved most about this book, actually. The characters were all incredibly flawed. They were selfish and whiny and angry. They made stupid decisions because they were afraid of facing the truth. They often put their own thoughts and feelings above those around them. And yet they were believable. They still cared about each other. They fought with each other and ignored each other, but they were still friends. They weren’t perfect, but they were realistic. It’s hard to write a bunch of flawed yet likeable characters, but John Green and David Levithan manage to pull it off.

9/10

Posted on September 21, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

