Week 2 update

This is just going to be a quick post since I should really be writing.

Yesterday marked the end of week 2 of NaNoWriMo. Yesterday, I also finished my second novel. Here are the stats for anyone who’s curious:

Book 1: Degeneration (YA Contemporary) – about 46k
Random fan fiction – about 4k
Book 2: The Story of Em (NA Romance) – about 185k

Total word count: 235,311

The Story of Em is way too long. I know. I was hoping for 75k, and it sort of got away from me. I will need to cut a lot in the rewrite, but I’m still mostly happy with it. Two of the minor characters became much more important to the plot, and I never would have figured that out if I hadn’t given myself permission to ramble a bit.

If I can hit 250k by the end of tonight, I will still be on pace for 500k for the month, which is my new unofficial goal. The official goal is 400k. I’ve been keeping pace for 500k, but I’m not really sure I can keep this up. I’m going to try as long as I can, though!

Today, I’m starting a third book: The Whole Truth, which is also contemporary YA. This is my football player novel, which I’m a bit worried about. I’m still not entirely sure I like one part of the ending, but I’ll worry about that later. I might change it when I get to it, or I might not. Haven’t decided yet.

So, yeah, that’s how my month is going so far. I’m having a lot of fun. I also learned that I do really well with 10 minute sprints. I used to hate them, but now I’ve found they’re useful for when I’m not quite sure I have enough planned for a longer war. I’ve been doing an hour of 10 minute wars – 10 writing, 5 break – and it seems to be working well right now. Maybe I’ll try that again today.

Posted on November 15, 2013, in Degeneration, NaNoWriMo, The Story of Em, The Whole Truth, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh my….and I am behind in my measly 50K endeavor! πŸ˜‰

  2. sweetstuffbybecka

    Wow! Good for you! That’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

