The end of another NaNo

So, today is the last day of November. That means NaNoWriMo is coming to an end. For some of you, maybe it’s already over. Or maybe you have most of the day left. Here on the east coast of the US, we have about 9.5 hours left as of this writing. But I’m not writing anymore.

Because I am done.

Total words written: 500,005
Total novels completed: 4

  • Degeneration – 46k
  • The Story of Em – 185k
  • The Whole Truth – 98k
  • Trail Magic – 96k

The rest was random scenes. I wrote 4k of fan fiction, 5k of a novel that I ended up not finishing, a 2k short story about Halloween candy, a 2k poem, and the rest was random scenes involving characters from other novels. Sort of deleted scenes and stuff. Or scenes from their lives after their books were finished.

And now for the goal list:

• 50k Day One
• 75k opening weekend
• 100k by end of week 1
• 250k by end of month (dream goal of 300k)
• Finish at least 3 novels (5 if necessary to reach word count goal)

○ Degeneration
○ The Story of Em
○ The Whole Truth
○ Trail Magic (formerly 2,000 Miles)
○ Imprisoned Lightning

• Another 50k weekend
• Write at least 2k every day (preferably 5k)

I am happy to say that I accomplished every single one of those goals. Some of them I blew out of the water – like “another 50k weekend.” Turns out that 500k equals 50k every 3 days. So every weekend was 50k weekend! Also, 250k by the end of the month. I hit that on the 15th and then went on to double it. I never thought I would be able to do that! I also wrote at least 3k every day, including the days when I had eight hours of school AND three hours of grad school.

And now for some stats. Because numbers are fun:
• Most words in an hour: 5,026
• Most words in 10 minutes: 1001
• Most words in a day: 50,001 (Day One)
• Least words in a day: 3,018 (Day Five)
• Average words per day: 16,667

If anyone wants to see the breakdown of words written by novel, here’s my original spreadsheet:
Original spreadsheet 2013

And here is the spreadsheet I created when I realized I was increasing my goal:
New spreadsheet 2013

I have to say, as glad as I am that I came back for NaNo this year, I’m really glad the month is over. That was a lot of work, and I’m really looking forward to just relaxing and reading and playing video games and pretty much doing everything else that I haven’t been able to do this month. 🙂

What about you? Did you hit your goals for the month? Are you still writing? Are you glad the month is (almost) over? Or do you wish you still had a few more days?

Posted on November 30, 2013, in Degeneration, goals, NaNoWriMo, The Story of Em, The Whole Truth, Trail Magic, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I found your progress so inspirational this year. Seriously amazing!

    I just hit 100k. It’s only 3 PM EST, but I think I’m done. My original goal was two books and 150k, but as I started writing book one wanted all my attention and book two sort of sucked. So I spent all my time on book one, and I’m really, really happy and proud of it. I wrote some random scenes from other things to get me to 100k after it was done. I’m exhausted and ready for November to be over so I can do other things now.

    Next year I think I’m going to try 50k weekend one thing. And I’ve learned I definitely need two strong outlines to do two books. I cannot pants.

    • Aww, thank you so much!

      100k is still an awesome WC, even if it wasn’t your original goal – and especially if you’re really happy with what you produced! I’m so glad this was a good year for you! And yeah, I’m definitely glad we can do other things now. 🙂

      And I’m with you on the pantsing. Definitely not for me. I can make it work for random stuff, but not for a whole novel. Outlines all the way! And I will definitely be cheering you on for 50k weekend next year!

  2. Thanks for the stats! That’s exactly why I came here. I’m thinking of doing the same thing. I like numbers only when they’re related to words 🙂 You’re numbers and process are inspiring to see.

    I also originally had the goal of three books and 150k. I got to the second book and ran into a hitch with the research. Instead of dropping it, I kept trying to push through. As soon as I let it go and moved on to the third novel I found my rhythm again. I think I’m going to start outlining a little earlier next time. I stuck to the recommended one week and it burned me but I know better now.

    Will you go back and edit any of what you did this year or will you put it aside and work on something else?

    • It’s always good to try other people’s recommendations just to see if they work for you. But yeah, I’m the same way – a week of planning just isn’t enough. Still, I’m glad you found your rhythm again!

      I’m putting these novels aside for now. I had two other novels I was planning to edit before I decided to do NaNo, so I’m going to go back adn do those first. Then I’ll edit my first novel from this month, since that was a rewrite of another novel. Not really sure after that. 🙂

  3. Such pretty stats. Congrats on the awesome wordcount. And I’d like to second the question asking what you’re going to do now. More words? Or editing?

    • Thanks! I am taking a brief break right now, but then I will go back to editing the novels I had planned to edit before I realized I was doing NaNo again. Then I plan to edit the 50k day novel, which was a rewrite of a different novel. I haven’t quite decided what I’ll do after that, but I will definitely have it figured out at some point this month so I can set my goals for the new year. So you will definitely see another blog post when I figure it out! 🙂

      What about you? Are you writing? Editing?

  4. visit and Thank you for writing which is quite good and best wishes always, and greetings

Leave a Reply

