Life After NaNo

It’s been about a week and a half since NaNo ended, which means it’s been about a week and a half since I updated my blog. I wish I could say that the reason I’ve been so neglectful is that I’ve been super productive, but the truth is that I’ve been lazy. I’ve watched a lot of TV with my parents and boyfriend to make up for the time I didn’t spend with them in November. I’ve been playing video games (mostly Fable: The Lost Chapters). I read a book.

And all that was fun, but now I’m ready to start being more productive. As some of you might recall, back in October I said that I was going to start editing Tilt Your Head and Smile, my contemporary NA that I’ve written at least three times. Although somehow it’s now labeled as Draft 5. But anyway – that’s what I was going to do before I decided to do NaNo, so that’s what I’ve gone back to. I’ll do a post on how I edit soon, but for now I’ll just say that I’ve created a spreadsheet and have already gone through the first four chapters, and I mostly like what I have. I’m a bit unclear about the relevancy of some of the stuff, but I’ll wait to make big changes until after I’ve gone through the whole thing.

I have to say, it feels good to be doing something again. I’ve spent a lot of time lately feeling sort of lost and confused. This always happens to me after NaNo is over. I keep checking the forums, but there’s not really much there to hold my interest. I keep trying to find something fun to do online, some new article to read or something, but nothing catches my eye. But instead of just editing or getting off the computer, I end up just sitting there, being bored. It’s incredibly stupid, but it generally takes me at least a week to break out of this phase. At least I’ve moved on now.

Of course, one other thing I should be doing is catching up on all of the book reviews that I should have written this year but didn’t. I read those 24 books for my YA lit class (and even read a few more than were required), but I didn’t write reviews for most of them because I was reading so fast and kept putting them off. And then I didn’t write them in October because I was trying to use that time to prepare for NaNo.

I thought about how to best deal with the lack of book reviews, and I’ve finally decided what I’m going to do. Rather than post the 16 book reviews here and flood your inboxes (because you are following my blog, right?) with posts about books, I’m just going to post them to GoodReads and then link them here in one post so you know when they’re up (if you care – which you totally should). From now on, I’ll be better about writing the reviews as I finish the books so I don’t get behind.

So that’s what I’ve been up to since NaNo ended. What have you been up to? Still writing? Editing? Doing something completely unrelated?

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Editing, NaNoWriMo, Reading, Tilt Your Head and Smile. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ah, but alas, Katie, I did not do NaNo, and highly doubt I ever will. Glad you’re bouncing back, though:) As for me, the only writing I’ve done (other than typing comments, tweets and emails!) is prepping for my blog launches. I posted my giveaways, too 😀 So, at least I’m being productive in a “writing” way 🙂

Leave a Reply

