Top Ten Tuesday: Authors that are new to me

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten New to Me Authors.

top ten tuesday

Most of these authors probably aren’t new to anyone but me, but that’s okay. At least I found them eventually, right? If you also haven’t read anything by any of these people, I highly recommend giving it a shot! Since I couldn’t decide how I would rank these, I’ve decided to post them in the order that I discovered them.

1. J. Elizabeth Hill I’ve followed her blog for a couple of years, and I was super excited to get to read both Bound and Possession this year. If you like fantasy, you should check out this series. I can’t wait to read more of her work!

2. Jennifer E. Smith I absolutely adored The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. This is What Happy Looks Like wasn’t quite as good, but it was still an enjoyable read. She also has some other books out, which I’m looking forward to reading!

3. E. Lockhart Words can’t describe how much I loved the Ruby Oliver series. Each one was better than the last. She has two other books out and one more that either just came out or is coming out soon, and I look forward to reading them.

4. Kody Keplinger If you like contemporary young adult books with a dash of feminism, you’ll probably enjoy these books by Keplinger as much as I did. The DUFF was probably my favorite, but A Midsummer’s Nightmare and Shut Out, which is a modern-day Lysistrata, were both really good, too.

5. Marjane Satrapi Persepolis was the first graphic novel I’ve ever read, and I could not have enjoyed it more. This book and the sequel show Satrapi’s life growing up in Iran after the revolution of 1979. She also has at least two other books out I’ve just learned, so I look forward to reading them.

6. Cora Carmack I kept wanting to like New Adult books, but I didn’t really until I read Losing It. The plot was a bit predictable, but I really enjoyed it. And then I read Faking It, and I loved that one even more. Finding It wasn’t quite as good as the first two, but I still liked it, and I look forward to reading her next set of books.

7. Gayle Forman I only read one of her books this year – If I Stay – but I absolutely loved it, and I really have to get around to reading the sequel, as well as the other books Forman has out, as this is definitely one talented writer.

8. Beth Revis I’ve been hearing about the Across the Universe series for a while, and I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to read the first one. I have the second two on my shelf right now, and I will have finished the series by the end of the year. I don’t normally care about stories set in space, but this book is making me reconsider that.

9. Libba Bray Beauty Queens is one of the funniest, most thought-provoking books I’ve read this year. If you like satire, I highly suggest you pick up this book!

10. Rainbow Rowell I didn’t love Eleanor & Park as much as everyone else seems to have, but I adored Fangirl, which reminded me so much of my younger, fan fiction loving self.

What about you? What are some of your favorite authors that you’ve discovered this year?

Posted on December 17, 2013, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. We definitely have similar tastes! Beauty Queens is one of my favorites of all time, across all genres. It’s amazing how she turned a gimmicky premise into brilliant, biting satire. She is an inspiration!

    I read all of Gayle Forman’s books this year. I just could not stop reading everything she wrote. E. Lockhart I have only read excerpts from a writing course but the books are now on my list. Can’t wait to read Fangirl; Eleanor and Park was a very well-written book but difficult to get through at times because of the characters. I count it a strength to the author because she wrote characters who were not easy to like (at least I thought that way about Eleanor).

    Lastly, I feel the same way about New Adult. I read two NA’s that I had to stop reading around 10-20 pages because the writing was horrible. Both were self-pubbed but with lots of positive reviews, good covers. The NA I liked was also self-pubbed, and I liked it, though it read more like a YA to me and wasn’t as romance focused. I will keep on giving them a try! I want to find an NA with a more literary bent, it can still be romance, but I don’t want 1980s soap opera style theatrics or elementary level writing.

    • Beauty Queens really is amazing. It’s funny – I saw the cover, but I thought it looked kind of stupid until I saw a review describing it as a feminist book. I’m so glad I decided to try it! I can’t say enough good things about it!

      I still can’t quite figure out what I thought about Eleanor. I think I wanted to like her more than I did. But you’re right – it says a lot about the author that I kept reading anyway!

      Yeah, NA is pretty hit or miss for me. So much of it just sort of blends together. I think part of my problem is that I usually skim over sex scenes in books unless they’re really important to the plot. I’m not anti-sex by any means – I just don’t want to read about it every other page. Sometimes it worries me a bit because I have several manuscripts that I would classify as NA, but there’s little if any sex in most of them, so I’m worried they won’t really “fit” in the NA category.

  2. Oh wow, thank you for including me. 🙂 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

