Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

This book does not come out until February 2014. I won an advanced copy of this book in Marissa Meyer’s “Write Like Crazy” Challenge for NaNoWriMo. (You can also check out an interview by me and the other winners here.)

Warning: The summary and review that follow DO contain spoilers for books 1 and 2 of the series. You can find my reviews of the first two books here:
Cinder (Book #1)
Scarlet (Book #2)

Title: Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)  (GoodReads)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Page Count: 560
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: YA Science fiction

Goodreads Summary:
In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

Opinion:
Words can’t even begin to explain how much I adored this book. I’ve been hooked on this series since I first picked up Cinder last summer, and each book in the series is so much better than the last, which I didn’t think was possible. Each novel is just so much more complex. We meet new characters and learn more information about old ones.

Cress was a great addition to the series. She’s so cute, but at the same time she slowly gains confidence in herself, which is really important. She reacts in believable ways to the situations she’s faced with. And I absolutely love her obsession with Thorne. Thorne was my favorite addition in book 2, and he just keeps getting better. I have a bit of a crush on him myself, so I could definitely relate to Cress in that sense.

Admittedly, not a ton happens in this book, at least looking back. If I remember correctly, Scarlet covered just a few days after the events of Cinder, and Cress doesn’t cover much more time. But it’s still amazing how much drama you can get out of just a couple of weeks. Plus, this book is a lot darker than previous books, or at least some scenes were. I’m curious to see what will happen next, though I’m also a bit afraid for the characters.

I enjoyed watching the characters grow in this novel. We learned more about all of them, and I have so much respect for Marissa Meyer. There are at seven different point of view characters, and she manages to keep all of the stories flowing. I read on her blog that the next book will have eleven point of view characters – that’s ridiculous, and yet I have full confidence that she will be able to handle it.

I could go on and on about how much I loved this book. Once I started reading this book, I could not put it down – I just had to keep reading to find out what happened next. I meant to read just a few chapters at a time, as I had other things I was supposed to be doing, but I pretty much dropped everything else and focused solely on finishing this book. Who has time for editing when the characters are getting into all sorts of trouble?

If you haven’t started reading this series yet, you really should. I’ve never read such in original retelling before. She takes these characters and makes them her own, and I love them so much. These books are officially my second favorite series of all time – second only to Harry Potter. And, really, I can’t think of any higher praise than that.

Rating: 10/10

Posted on December 27, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. sweetstuffbybecka

    I hadn’t heard of this series, but I will definitely have to check it out! Sounds like it’s right up my alley! Thanks for the review!

  2. Katie, I’m considering reading these some point in the FAR-off future, especially with a review like this! lol I had the pleasure of meeting Marissa at a book signing a few months ago. She’s really nice 🙂

    • Ooh, I’m jealous that you got to meet her! I’ve only had online interactions with her, but I agree – she’s really nice! I hope you end up loving them as much as I do when you get around to reading them! 🙂

      • Thanks, Katie 🙂 Yeah, actually I wouldn’t have met her, but I knew one of the other author/editors and wanted to be there for her, so I met the other 3 authors doing the tour with her and Marissa was one of them.

Leave a Reply

