Book Review: The Distance Between Us

 

Sorry for posting multiple book reviews in one day. I just realized that I was running out of time to post them before the end of th year, so I figured I’d go ahead and do this now.

Title: The Distance Between Us (GoodReads)
Author: Kasie West
Page Count: 312
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: YA Contemporary

Goodreads Summary:
Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

Opinion:
I liked Caymen from the very beginning. She’s super sarcastic, so much so that most people don’t realize that she’s joking most of the time. She lives with her mom above their doll store, and she does what she has to do to help her mom – even though that’s not really what she wants to do with her life. But she knows that she has to be there for her mom, and it was interesting to read about their relationship. Usually in these situations we have a character who either loves doing whatever she can for her family or else we have a character who ends up resenting her family. I loved Caymen’s relationship with her mom, though, because it felt very real. She loves her mom and enjoys spending time with her, and she wants to do what she can for her mom – but she also wants a life of her own, and her struggle seemed very realistic.

I also liked her relationship with her friend. They clearly wanted the best for each other, and they could talk to each other about most of the things that were troubling them (well, that were troubling Caymen), which was nice. Hell, I even liked her friend’s boyfriend and the guy she tried to hook Caymen up with. Both had their flaws but were rather realistic and amusing.

Xander was a bit harder to figure out. Really, he’s realistic, too. He does and says stupid things, but he’s also kind of adorable at times. I could see why he and Caymen were so drawn to each other for the most part, though I didn’t trust him the whole time. I really wanted to like him, though, as it was clear how much Caymen liked him, even if she didn’t want to admit it to herself. Really, I couldn’t put the book down because I had to find out what was going to happen with these two. I was just going to read part of it, and I ended up reading all of it. I just could not put it down.

The only thing that kept me from loving this book completely – and what’s lowering the rating – was the ending. Everything happens too fast, and it all just gets sorted out a bit too neatly. I won’t say more than that because I don’t want to give anything away, but it was not at all what I was expecting. It sort of makes sense, but I didn’t like it. I feel like I was cheated out of a real ending.

That said, it was still a highly enjoyable book overall, and the ending wasn’t bad enough to ruin the whole book.

Rating: 8/10

Posted on December 27, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m looking forward to reading this soon. Good review 🙂

Leave a Reply

