Resolutions – Looking back and ahead

It’s that time of year again. The time when you look back at what you’ve accomplished over the past year and set goals for yourself for the following year. Or at least it’s a time when many people do that, and I generally try to do it, too. I don’t always do what I say I’m going to do, but having goals still helps me feel like I’m working toward something, and it’s fun to be able to look back and see that I’ve actually done something over the past year, even if it wasn’t exactly what I meant to do.

So, first, the resolutions for 2013, and a look at how I did:

1: Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks – and update on the site.
I actually read 77 books this year (2 of which were textbooks, which totally count!), but I rarely ever linked my reviews to the “52 Books in 52 Weeks” website. So – partial success.

2. Read at least 10 New Adult books.
I read 12 that fall into that age group, so I’m counting them all. Success.

3. Finish editing the following novels:
For Real This Time // Tilt Your Head and Smile // Degeneration // Alone // Choices

Well, I finished editing TILT YOUR HEAD AND SMILE. And I wrote draft two of DEGENERATION. Didn’t do anything with the rest of them, though. So this one was mostly a fail.

4. Finish writing the following novels:
God’s Love // The Story of Em // Together // Better

Another mostly failed goal. I finally finished THE STORY OF EM, but I didn’t do anything with the rest of them. I did, however, write several different novels. So I was productive, but not in the way I intended.

5. Do something to advance my writing every day.
I spent a lot of time reading blogs that had to do with writing, which technically counts as part of my goal. Overall, though, this wasn’t the best year for my writing. So I’ll count this as a fail.

6. Participate in more challenges like Pitch Wars.
I participated in The Writer’s Voice. I wasn’t picked by a judge, and I never heard back from the agent who requested my manuscript, but it still counts! So – success!

7. Become more socialโ€ฆon the Internet.
I’m not sure if this counts as a win or not. I met a whole bunch of new people during NaNo that I chatted with. I’ve found more Twitter followers. So I didn’t become as social as I was probably hoping, but I’ve made progress since 2012, so I’ll count that as a win.

8. Find CPs/beta readers.
Did not happen.

9. Exercise regularly.
Also did not happen. I mean, I exercised, and I did so regularly for a little while, but then I would stop again. Although technically starting and stopping is still a pattern, so does that count as exercising regularly?

10. Continue to eat better.
I will consider this a mostly win. I’ve had some days (most of which have been in the last week or two) where I haven’t been eating like I know I should, but overall I’m still eating way better than I used to.

 

And now for my goals for 2014. I was originally going to do this as a separate post, but I waited too long to write this. I seem to be doing that a lot lately.

1. Learn Dvorak.
I’ve been saying I’m going to do this for years, but I only seem to remember right before NaNo, when it’s too late to change.

2. Read 50 books, including the following: 10 classics, 10 New Adult, 10 nonfiction.
I’ll be student teaching in the spring and (hopefully) starting my first year of teaching in the fall, so I won’t have as much time to read as I did this year, but I’m hoping I can still do this. And if I’m going to be an English teacher, I should probably start reading all of the books that people normally read in English classes that for some reason I never had to read.

3. Write 500 for WriYe.
I signed up for National Novel Writing Year again, even though I’m not completely certain I can write that much this year. Of course, I wrote that much in a month this year, so I’m hoping it’s not too ridiculous this year.

4. Edit/rewrite Degeneration, For Real This Time, Alone, and Choices.
These are the novels I was supposed to edit this year and didn’t.

5. Rewrite Trail Magic and The Story of Em.
I wrote both of these for NaNo this year. I don’t know that I’ll necessarily have to rewrite them completely, but I generally have to do that, so I’m assuming I will for these. If I don’t have to rewrite them, I should at least edit them.

6. Find a critique partner (or more).
TILT is the only novel that I have that’s ready for this stage. I’m really happy with it, actually. I just haven’t shared it with anyone yet, and if I’m serious about publication (which I am), I need help.

7. Win NaNo.
Since I’ve been writing way over 50k the past few years, this shouldn’t be difficult. However, this will be my first year doing NaNo as a teacher (hopefully, assuming I get a job), so it will be much harder to find time to write. I’m hoping I can still hit at least 100k while teaching, but we’ll see.

8. Lose 50 pounds.
I don’t really like my generic “eat better and exercise more” goals of last year. I like to see numbers. Obviously this has nothing to do with writing, but I figured I’d mention it anyway.

9. Graduate and get my teaching certification.
Again, not writing related, and I’m pretty much guaranteed to do this unless something goes horribly wrong, but still. I like goals that I’m pretty much guaranteed to accomplish.

10. Find a job.
This one is way less certain. Still, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to find a teaching job once I graduate.

So there are my goals. How’d you do on yours? Do you have any for the upcoming year?

Posted on December 31, 2013, in goals. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Haha, textbooks do count! I read a LOT of NA last year. I think my obsession started when I read Colleen Hoover’s, Tammara Webber’s and Abbi Glines’s books in 2012 and addicted I became. Now, what with the similar plots, I’m actually a bit tired of the genre and trying to read more YA since I have so many of ’em on my kindle and on my physical shelf. Yay for progress on your writing ๐Ÿ™‚ Kat Zhang, Susan Dennard, um.. and some more authors (that don’t come to mind on this very moment) have great advice on their blogs about writing. I don’t writ emyself, but I do love to read their posts. Haha. I wanted to excercise regurarly as well, but I only did so for about 3 months when my ex swimming trainer invited me to try pole fitness and it was tough. I want to go back in this month and hopefully start dancing again. I miss it so. We’ll see. As for classics–I LOVE To Kill a Mockingbird. Every time I read it, it makes me cry at the end and it’s just such a powerful read. Adore that one. And of course Pride and Prejudice ๐Ÿ™‚ These are some great goals and I hope that you will achieve everything you aim for ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I haven’t read any of those NA authors, but I’ve been meaning to! I actually have Webber’s Easy on my shelf right now. I’m just waiting until I finish my library books to get to it. I think if I space them out, I shouldn’t get too tired of reading the same plot multiple times. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for the recommendations of blogs to follow! I’m always interested in seeing what other authors have to say about writing, so that’s really helpful.

      I need to find some sort of exercise that I like doing. Just not sure what that is yet. And I love To Kill A Mockingbird! I’ll actually be helping to teach that this semester to a bunch of freshmen, so I’ll be re-reading it soon to make sure it’s fresh in my head. I’m looking forward to it. Thanks for commenting! I hope you have a great year, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

