Book Buying Hiatus

Those who follow me on Twitter might have noticed that I made a promise not to buy any new books or get any more books from the library until I had finished the ones I already had. The reason for this is because I recently bought 13 new books (each of them between $2 and $4), and I had 6 books out from the library, and that seemed a bit ridiculous.

Here’s a really poor quality photo of the books in case anyone’s curious (the punctuation guide at the bottom of the left stack isn’t new):

 

new books

 

Yesterday, I returned the six library books (having read four of them), and I was only supposed to pick up the book that was already on hold. Except I was already there, and there was one other book I really wanted to read, but I couldn’t remember the name of the author, so I decided to walk around and try to find it on my own. I never did, but I did find four other books that I wanted to read. So I already broke my promise, and then I broke it further by coming home and putting two more books on hold at the library.

BUT! This is actually the last time I will do that this summer. The next two months are for reading those library books and the 13 books I recently bought. I actually have so many more books to read beside just those 13, but I’m starting with those.

I’m running out of room on my bookshelves. Actually, that’s a lie. I’m already out of room. I have books stacked on top of and in front of other books. The tops of my bookshelves are covered with books. I have no room for more books, and my mother refuses to let me turn the guest room next door into a library. She’s saying I should start packing books into boxes to save for when I’m able to move out. At first I thought she was crazy, but I’m actually starting to think that might not be such a bad idea.

These are just two of my bookshelves. I have one more white one that's full but doesn't have multiple layers of books.

These are just two of my bookshelves. I have one more white one that’s full but doesn’t have multiple layers of books.

I’ve become one of those people who never throws anything out. My closet doesn’t have any room for more clothes, but I refuse to throw out shirts that I no longer wear, even shirts I’ve never worn. I keep holding onto things because I’ve paid money for them and am hoping I might one day find a way to use them. This might not be a problem if I had my own place and could spread out, but I don’t. I still live with my parents, which means I have to fit all of my stuff in one bedroom, a bedroom I also share with my boyfriend, so he has stuff there, as well. We definitely need to find a way to organize better, and I need to learn how to get rid of stuff I don’t need anymore.

And I need to stop getting more books. There was one time in high school where I finished a book and had nothing else in the house to read, so I had to make an emergency trip to Borders (R.I.P.) to find something to read. While I don’t anticipate getting back to that state anytime soon, I would at least like to have my TBR pile fit on a bookshelf. Which is why I’m actually enforcing my book buying hiatus – or I guess I should call it a book obtaining hiatus.

Who knows? Once I read through all the physical books I might actually get around to reading some of the hundreds that I have on my Nook.

What about you? Are you taking a hiatus from buying anything? Do you have any tips on how to keep your room more organized or de-cluttering your life? If so, please share!

Posted on June 11, 2014, in goals, life. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Whoa, that bookshelf is pretty impressive.

    I’m on a tea buying hiatus at the moment, but you probably knew that. 🙂 As far as unread books go, I have a decent stack but am trying to library more. My unread stack is an “in case of bookmergency” stack. That way there will be books to read when I don’t want to leave the house.

    And actually, I’m the opposite–I try not to keep too much of most things on hand and get rid of things pretty easily. That’s why I primarily keep favorite books, signed books, and those that would be difficult or expensive to replace.

    • You’re actually what inspired my book buying hiatus. 🙂 I do like the idea of having a stash of emergency books, although I have a feeling that between my bookshelf and my Nook, I’ll never really run out of books. I have a really hard time getting rid of books. We went through all my books yesterday, and I only managed to find like 6 that I was willing to part with. But still, I managed to get rid of some, and that’s progress. I have a feeling I’ll be better at getting rid of stuff when it comes time for me to move.

  2. We just installed a corner book shelf so I’m busy pulling books out of cardboard boxes and putting them where I can grab and re-read my favorites!
    As for decluttering…here’s my rule of thumb. If I have not used it in the last 12 months, out it goes. Donation or dump. It goes out. It’s hard to do, but what a relief it brings!
    Maybe just try one area first. ie: clothes instead of everything.
    I know of some people who imagine having to move and can only take what will fit in their car. Everything else has to go.

    • 12 months…that’s a good rule. And I think it’s a good idea to focus on one area at a time. Sometimes I try to do too much at once and then get overwhelmed and quit. Thanks for the advice! I think I’ll feel better once my room has less junk in it – even if it will definitely be hard to say goodbye at first!

  3. Oh, so many good books in that first picture! I highly recommend Openly Straight, The Sky is Everywhere, and Lola and the Boy Next Door. Which of them have you already read at this point? I hope you enjoy all the books you’ve bought as well as the ones you got from the library. (:

    As for decluttering and storing books, I always make a rule that I will not return a book back to the library unless I’ve read it (I have a phobia of late fees, so this has usually worked out). I feel like it’s one of those things you just have to make a habit – no matter how tempting books might appear at the library or the bookstore, you just have to tell yourself that there are other books you have that won’t be read if you get new ones. Perhaps not the most helpful tip, but transforming thought to action and then habit is always good.

    Hope your prep for Camp NaNo is going well, and happy birthday!

    • I actually haven’t read any of them yet, but I’ll read your recommendations first! I already had library books, and it’s taken me a while to get through those. But I’m almost ready to start reading these!

      Thanks for the tip. I think that’s a good way to think about them. If I can stop thinking of the newer books as better and just appreciate what I already have, I’ll actually make progress. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

