Camp NaNo Update: Novel Complete!

My main goal for Camp NaNo was to write the third draft of my YA novel DEGENERATION by July 15. As anyone who was on Twitter around 3 am EST may have noticed, I accomplished my goal.

DEGENERATION is complete at 62,752 words. It’s not the 70k-75k I originally thought it would be, but it’s over 50k, and that’s really all I care about. Besides, 63k is a good length for a young adult novel.

I can now say that my phase outline experiment was a success. I loved having everything already planned out when I went to write. I still ended up making changes – adding conversations I hadn’t thought of originally or skipping parts that no longer seemed like a good idea – but for the most part I stuck with my outline. I’m not sure if this would be my best option for a brand new novel, but it’s definitely how I’m going to do my rewrites from now on.

In case anyone’s curious, I made a chart so I could see just how many actual words each outline word gave me. The short answer is that I got 5 words per 1 word of my outline, which isn’t bad. I was hoping for more like 7, but like I said, I’m happy with the overall length of my novel, so it doesn’t really matter. Here’s the chart, if anyone wants to see it:

Chapter

Outline Words

Novel Words

Novel Words: Outline Words

1

458

2859

6.2

2

380

3753

9.9

3

209

2509

12.0

4

330

3389

10.3

5

426

3535

8.3

6

289

2443

8.5

7

451

3540

7.8

8

882

3618

4.1

9

556

3206

5.8

10

1153

3989

3.5

11

944

4128

4.4

12

628

3194

5.1

13

593

2504

4.2

14

946

3213

3.4

15

584

2623

4.5

16

769

3700

4.8

17

569

2477

4.4

18

1036

3505

3.4

19

879

3273

3.7

20

325

1174

3.6

Total

12494

62752

5.0

So now what am I going to do with the rest of the month, you ask? (Oh, you didn’t ask? That’s okay. I’ll just pretend.) I haven’t quite decided yet. I originally thought I might continue the editing I was doing before on TILT YOUR HEAD AND SMILE. I’m halfway through the most recent draft, and I’m starting to think I might need to redo the entire novel. I’m not sure yet. I have an idea for how to make the novel more interesting, but I’m not sure if that idea is really a good fix for this one or if I should just write it as a separate novel.

My other idea is a new adult romance – but without all the gratuitous sex scenes. I can picture three of the main characters, but there are two more (two different love interests) that I still need to work on. I’ve been saying I’m going to plot this one for the last two weeks, but that never really happens. I have a few scenes in mind, but I still need to understand the characters before I can even attempt to pants a novel. Although I did write a thousand words in this story already. It was just the opening scene, but I actually kind of like it so far.

I’m probably going to spend the rest of the day trying to get to know the characters for that novel better. I haven’t had a 0 words day yet this month, and I’d like to keep it that way.

Posted on July 10, 2014, in CampNaNo, Degeneration, Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congrats! That is a marvelous accomplishment!
    You Rock!

  2. Congratulations, Katie! I love how you record your progress with such assiduous effort – it allows you to write posts like these and reflect on your work. (: I also feel like a 12K word outline is pretty impressive in and of itself; you wrote about outlining in another post, but I think that the amount of time you spent in the outlining phase has helped you write a lot pretty quickly. Would you agree?

    Good luck with Tilt Your Head and Smile as well as your possible new adult romance!

    • The outline absolutely helped! I’m good at writing a lot of words fast without an outline that detailed, but this is the first time I’ve written a draft that fast that I would feel comfortable showing people right now if I had to. Outlining took a while, sure, but I definitely think it was worth it, given the way I write.

Leave a Reply

