So I have 27 days to move to another state…

This has been the most stressful week of my life so far, and it’s about to get much worse. Better, sure. But worse first.

I guess I should start with some background information. My boyfriend and I are both teachers, or at least have certifications. He finished up his first year in May, and I just graduated with my Masters in Teaching in May. We were both looking for jobs and having trouble finding them. His problem stems from the fact that he’s a Latin teacher, and Georgia doesn’t really need a lot of those. My problems stem from the fact that I have no experience and am horrible at interviews. School starts August 4-11 in Georgia (depending on the county), and teachers start going back around July 28. Clearly, we were running out of time.

And then everything changed.

My boyfriend suddenly got three job interviews, one in Georgia and two in Virginia. He ended up being offered the one in Georgia and one of the ones in Virginia. As if two job offers in the span of 36 hours wasn’t odd enough, he also started talking to the VA principal about how I also needed a teaching job, and the principal informed him that an English job had just opened up, and he asked if I wanted to come in an interview. Obviously, I did, and as you can probably tell by the blog post title (or Twitter, if you follow me there), I got the job. So now my boyfriend and I will both be teaching at the same school.

Oh, and the principal and one of the assistant principals have both attempted NaNoWriMo and think it’s cool that I’ve done it for so many years. I mean, how awesome is that?

We’re both really excited to get these jobs. Virginia has a nicer climate than Georgia (or at least we’re hoping it does), and we love the area. The only thing we don’t love is that we now have 27 days to find an apartment 9 hours away from where we currently live, apply, get approved, find furniture, pack, move, and deal with all the normal first days of school drama. It’s exciting, but it’s already super stressful. Plus I feel horrible because my little sister is getting married and is in the process of buying a house, so my parents already feel abandoned by her, and now I’m moving out of state. Leaving them is going to be really hard. It’ll also be really hard to leave behind our friends here. We’ll obviously stay friends since most of our interaction takes place online anyway, but it still sucks. Of course, my boyfriend has already started researching ways that we can have our biweekly D&D nights online, so it might not be that bad.

But yeah, that’s what I’m dealing with now. I probably won’t be blogging that much in the next month, though I’ll try.

Anyone have any advice for someone leaving home for the first time? Or for someone moving far away for the first time?

Posted on July 22, 2014, in life. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. TheCatssMeoww

    Congratulations on the new jobs!

  2. I’m moving from Florida to North Carolina within the next six weeks with my girlfriend. We’re going to live out in the country first. It’s cheaper, and the requirements to move in were not strict. After we get to know the area better (Raleigh) and get more established, we’re going to try to move in closer.

    • I’ve never lived in either place, but we both seem to be sticking to the same region of the country! We’ve decided to live near a city so we can still get to everything we need, but I’m definitely a bit worried about being able to find a place. Best of luck to both of you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congratulations to you both! Very exciting !!
    Advice: Give each other lots of grace and patience as you transition to 1-new location, 2-living on your own, 3-new jobs. Also: Plan something fun to look forward to.
    Keep us posted!

    • Thanks! And we’ve already had to start being more understanding of each other, as we’re snapping about pretty much everything. Fortunately, after a minute or so we realize we’re being stupid and stressed and stop. But it’s definitely going to be a rough couple of months! I like your suggestion about having something fun planned. I think we’ll need that. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Congratulations on the job! Sounds spontaneous, but I guess that’s one of the perks of life sometimes. May I ask what area of VA you’re moving to? I live in VA and am acquainted with the school system – seeing as I just graduated from high school a couple of years ago – so I’m curious to see where you’re teaching. I just saw your tweet about a Georgia school making you an offer… but you say you already signed with VA, so you’re still moving there, correct?

    • Thanks! It is rather spontaneous now that I think about it, but since we were both practically handed jobs, it seemed silly to turn them down. We’ll be teaching in Orange County but living in Charlottesville. We’re definitely still moving – applied to an apartment yesterday, actually!

  5. Wow, that’s really exciting! Congrats to both of you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for advise, just remember to have fun because moving can be seriously stressful at times.

Leave a Reply

